top of page
  • Writer's picturegsustudyabroadblog

Italy: Honors Study Abroad Program







Takeisha Hamiton-Sparks took part in the Honors Study Abroad Program in Italy this summer. While traveling and learning abroad she kept up a blog. Below are some of the posts she made. If you would like to read more about her experience be sure to check out her blog.














May 31, 2018

Just to be clear I am “STUDYING” abroad so of course there’s a lot of work to be done in the midst of visiting these wonderful sites that correlate to the outlined goals that are set out for us to complete.  On average we’ve walked about 4-5 miles PER DAY and some days more. So, yes exhausted is a great way to put it.  Sometimes after exhausting trips we still have personal assignments and group projects to complete.

I am also dealing with the culture shock.  Trying to understand the language, the people, and directions is a lot to process and can be overwhelming. I find myself going to the American breakfast spot as a small reminder of home.  I took this opportunity as a way to push me out of my comfort zone.  Everyday I’ve learned something new about myself.  I’ve spiritually and mentally grown more than I thought I would.

I cannot stress to you how important studying abroad for students is. It should be a requirement!!! It has a great impact on a students ability to understand cultural differences, learning how to approach different personalities, getting out of your comfort zone, being quick on your toes to figure out solutions in a place you know nothing about, and the list goes on and on….

Take the challenge STUDY ABROAD!!!!





May 23, 2018

Let’s talk about this real quick then I’m going to bed.  For about 30 minutes I stared at this pop thinking “Hmmmm This is not the orange color I’m use to”.   If you look at this label there is NO corn syrup and NO dye. Just about everything here is fresh, no GMO, no pesticides, or no chemical alternatives.  Really makes you wonder what is really being produced in our country and how it can affect our bodies.  The taste of this pop was very different as well. It reminded me of a lightly carbonated fresh orange juice.






37 views0 comments
bottom of page