top of page
  • Writer's picturegsustudyabroadblog

Catching Flights & Packing Light: With Tommy Kolovos



Hi Guys! I’m Tommy Kolovos, a three-time (soon to be four-time) study abroad alumni, and I’m here to help making packing for your next adventure a breeze! We’re going to go over some packing tips, and some really neat travel accessories to have for your next exploration.
 

Categories

I like to organize my items into five categories: clothing, toiletries, documents, miscellaneous and electronics. This helps me cluster everything I need into smaller groups instead of one big group. Another thing I like to do is start writing a list of everything I need a few weeks before departure. This helps me remember stuff I might forget if I packed last minute. Generally with packing less is more. You do not want to pack “hypotheticals” and by hypotheticals I mean “I should bring this outfit just in case—stop that thought right there, you only need the essentials when you’re abroad.


Clothing

For clothing, I like to pack generally four to five outfits that I can mix and match. Jeans, plain t-shirts, and a good pair of shoes will not only make you look stylish, but comfortable for your adventure. How do you pack your clothing? Roll everything into small bundles, it saves space and helps with organizing. If it will be cold at your destination, wear your bulkier clothing like jackets, sweaters, and snow boots on the plane. Also, I like to put my socks and undergarments into packing cubs, I recommend shopping at T.J. Maxx for these stylish, organizable helpers! Also, do not forget to pack socks and undergarments for your trip, as well as some flip flops and sunglasses!


Toiletries

Toiletries is the one exception for the “less is more” rule. In your toiletries kit you’ll want shampoo, body wash, toothbrush, toothpaste, mouthwash, and a comb. Target and Wal-Mart sell these adorable travel size toiletries at a really cheap rate. In addition, you’ll want to pack some travel aspirin, Tums, Pepto-Bismol, and some Band-Aids. It’s better to have these items on hand rather than scurrying around a foreign country for a local pharmacy. Also, don’t forget your towel! I have this really cool quick-drying towel and I really recommend it for students staying in hostels.


Electronics

Electronics are vital for every study abroad student. The first tip I’d recommend is to leave your laptop at home if you’re going on a shorter trip. These are often bulky and you don’t want to risk losing it! You’re also going to want to buy a universal outlet plug, T.J. Maxx has a great selection of travel adaptors. Buy two, just in case you lose one, my first travel adaptor is still probably on a train that runs in between Rome and Venice. Also, buy a back-up charger and put that in your carry-on ASAP. If you think you’ll remember to unplug your bedside phone charger and pack that the morning of your flight, trust me, you won’t. You do not even want to know how much phone chargers cost at O’Hare International Airport. In addition, pack a portable battery so you can charge your phone during adventure time, and bring a reading light for the plane . Make sure to bring headphones and chargers for cameras and IPads too!

Click here to purchase!

Documents

Important documents are essential to any good trip. You obviously need your passport but you should also take photo copies of your passport ID, Driver’s License/State ID, Credit/Debit Cards, and Health Insurance. Also, take copies of your itinerary and program acceptance letter along with you. Lastly, get your local currency from your local bank, I always get my euros through Chase and then generally have a better exchange rate than most airports and provide the money within the week for me.


Miscellaneous

Lastly, miscellaneous is the random stuff you’ll need throughout your adventure. This includes a water bottle, pillow for the plane, a good book for entertainment, and maybe even an eye-mask if you need absolute darkness to sleep on a plane. I always like to bring a flag of the country I’m visiting with me, and I always take a photo with the flag somewhere Iconic within the country, it’s a fun study abroad tradition and I definitely recommend it!


That’s all the tips I have for you all today. In general, less is more, remember your documents, and please pack an extra phone charger. All of us at OIS are so excited to see your adventures so don’t forget to tag us during your next study abroad adventure #oisatgsu, and, as always, we’ll see you across the ocean or over a few boarders!

- Tommy

145 views0 comments
bottom of page