top of page
  • Writer's picturegsustudyabroadblog

Experiencing Langar

Updated: Oct 4, 2018


My name is Elizabeth Ortiz and I studied in India in the the Spring of 2017. Before this trip, I also studied in Brazil during the Spring of 2015. Traveling the world has always appealed to me and Governors State University made it possible for me to travel to countries that I most likely would have never traveled to on my own.


“With bare feet and covered hair, I was welcomed into the house of worship and had the opportunity to see people practice the religion.”

One of my most interesting cultural experiences occurred in New Delhi, India while visiting the Gurudwara Bangla Sahib. This Sikh house of worship introduced me to the religion and some of its practices. With bare feet and covered hair, I was welcomed into the house of worship and had the opportunity to see people practice the religion. I learned about the concept of langar, where all visitors regardless of caste, ethnicity, economic status, or religion share a free vegetarian meal that is eaten while sitting on the ground. It was fascinating to see the openness in which everyone at the Sikh house of worship appeared to respond to one another and to outsiders. Even though I practice a different religion I felt welcomed there. I was given a drink of sacred water believed to have healing properties and was allowed to wash my feet in the Sarovar or sacred body of water. Overall, it was such a rich cultural experience.





Before the trip my biggest concern was that I would be studying in a field absolutely new to me. My field of education is in social work therefore learning about India from a business perspective did not appeal to me. However my desire to visit this country was even greater. In the months leading up to the trip I found myself reading as much as I could about India. Once abroad, all the research I had done helped me have a greater understanding of India. In the end the trip turned out to be more than I could have ever imagined. I absolutely loved being able to explore a new country. This trip helped me form a feeling of contentedness to India and its wonderful people. I can't forget to mention that I also made great memories with the GSU friends I made on these trips.


"My advice to anyone considering studying abroad is to take the leap! Apply for scholarships. Go study abroad. Learn something new, submerge yourself in a different culture, and find the beauty in every experience abroad."

Studying abroad has impacted me immensely. Through studying abroad I have had the ability challenge my own thoughts and beliefs about the world. Furthermore, I have developed a greater understanding and respect for people who are of a different religion and ethnicity than myself. My advice to anyone considering studying abroad is to take the leap! Apply for scholarships. Go study abroad. Learn something new, submerge yourself in a different culture, and find the beauty in every experience abroad.




23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page